Classic MacAlister boots in suede
full size
Classic MacAlister boots in suede
Product Details

Inspired by the crepe-soled boots worn by British officers during World War II, our MacAlister boots are made from the finest Italian suede and only get better with age. We purposely left them unlined for a more casual feel.

  • Italian suede upper.
  • Cotton laces, natural eyelets.
  • Stitched-out welt construction, authentic rubber sole.
  • Made in Italy.
  • Online only.
Size & Fit Details
  • Unisex sizing: Women, please order two sizes smaller than your regular size.

Classic MacAlister boots in suede

Classic MacAlister boots in suede is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 59.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look great and feel great. These shoes look and feel great but they run very large I'm usually a 9.5 and I'm in the process of returning the size 9 I bought due to reading that they ran a little large but they run very large. I'm trying the 8h and I really hope they are just right with a little room for stretch because the 9s were really long in the front.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great shoes, buy them 1/2 size smaller These are only available online and I was told by the J Crew rep in store to buy them a half size smaller. I had a hard time believing her...it's been a long time since I bought anything smaller than a 12, but the 11.5 fit perfect.
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sole came unglued after a few weeks As the title of the review says, the sole came unglued after a few weeks. Aside from that, I like them. Poor quality though. I expect better.
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile. Comfortable. Classic. High quality suede in colors that match just about any item of clothing and look. I've owned my pair for over a year and the construction has held up nicely. Overall fit, in my opinion, is a bit generous and the shoe will naturally break in or stretch over time. I'd recommend sizing down a half size to compensate for this. I've worn these with jeans, shorts, sweat pants and summer suits, always comfortably. A great staple piece of footwear.
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect casual boots My boyfriend and I got these and we love them. I bought the anchor grey color a few months back and sized down 2 from w11 to m9 but they were huge [and got sent back] so I was skeptical the second time around. I decided to go down an extra size from a womens 11 to a mens 8.5 and it is a perfect fit. There is still a little space in the toe and I have wide feet so they're a good, supportive snug. My boyfriend usually wears an 11.5 so he got an 11 and they are perfect for him too. The grey wasn't my favorite so we got stone... which is a little less yellow than the picture and is a goregous grey-khaki color. I love them already and can hardly wait to wear them. Don't cheat yourself. Go for it. The "dark khaki" is almost like a reddish cognac color... those are my next bet. I can't wait! Thanks JCrew :)
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent desert book for spring or fall Classically styled desert boots in good quality suede. Fits well and package arrived quite quickly.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! My new faves! Finally bought these after pining for them for a long time. I got the Anchor Grey, and they are kind of more taupe-ish. I'd say the color is one of those that looks a bit different depending on the lighting. I still like them though because it's a pretty versatile color. Also, I usually wear an 8 in women's sizing, but sometimes 7.5. I decided to size down and got a men's 5.5, which was a good idea because they fit perfectly, so if you're in between sizes go for the smaller one. In my opinion they look good with any style pants pretty much. Not sure about wearing them with skirts yet, but maybe with leggings or opaque tights.
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Woman's Perspective Awesome! This is the first time ever that I purchased a Men's style and downsized to a 7.5 (Woman's 10). These don't make my feet appear larger or wider and definitely comfortable from the start. So stylish! Thanks J. Crew!
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally bought them! I have wanted a pair of J Crew Macalister boots forever, but I never could seem to find my women's shoe size in the men's sizing (always sold out). Finally found them now (maybe b/c it's summer and it's off season) and so I could not resist. I tried both size Men's 5 and 5.5 (I am a women's 7.5). The Men's 5 fit me best. Beautiful suede leather, soft on feet and I think will age well. Won't be able to wear these much until the fall, but looking forward to doing so!
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday shoe I have liked the look of these boots for a long time but thought maybe they were a tad bit too tomboyish, even though I embrace that description stylewise. That being said, I decided to try them and have been pleasantly surprised. I've worn them a lot this summer, even in the heat. They are casual, but dressier than Converse, which works great when I go to the museum or am out & about. They were comfortable right out of the box and true to size for me. I am super happy with these boots.
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have Boots These are so versatile that every man should have a pair. They are lightweight enough to pack when you travel. They look great with denim, chinos and wool bowery pants. I plan to always have a pair or two of these. I recommend to order a half size up, they are a bit narrow, but very comfortable. The support is on the minimal side, so they would not be ideal for long walking tours, but just right for work or an evening out.
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Macalister's I purchased both the dark suede and gray suede shoes. I love them both but the gray suede is really a taupe and not a true gray. Maybe it was just the pair I received but it's definitely taupe.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I really love my Macalister Boots, the quality of the product is first class I'm a fan.
Date published: 2016-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite! Really loving these sweet shoes. Incredibly comfortable. I have sensitive feet and these shoes felt so good right out of the box that I did not want to take them off. I wear an 8 and ordered 2.5 sizes down to a 5.5 after reading the posted reviews. They are boyish but also surprisingly feminine. They look really cute with a plaid skirt!
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't have too many... I love the MACALISTER boot. I have them in 4 colors and wear them year round. They look great with jeans, khakis and shorts. No socks (low unseen socks) in the summer is a great look.
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, classic shoe! I've had my eye on these for a while and purchased them recently. Definitely impressed with the quality and style! It's a sleeker, slimmer style than other desert boots out there, but I think that goes with the slim style of pants that are in style right now. The inner sole is padded and along with the gum sole, they make for a comfortable step.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shoes! I've never bought a bad product from J. Crew. These shoes are awesome, comfortable and versatile.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These run a little large but they are fantastic. So comfortable, like walking on clouds. Only had them a few weeks so not sure about durability just yet, but so far so good!
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Desert Boot Slim bottom with the gum outsole, can be easily dressed up or down. Great quality on both materials and construction. Not that much support as far as the full structure of the boot and runs slightly narrow.
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A near perfect desert boot Except for running large (I sized down a half size), this may be the perfect desert boot. I love the dark khaki color (a rich brown), and yesterday, I wore them from 8:00 am in the morning until after midnight, and found them comfortable for the whole day.
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As expected / good buy Shoe fit true to size and really love the color.Good buy!
Date published: 2014-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Boot for ALL Seasons I love my Macalister boots. After losing my first pair to the viscous amazon of Peru, it was a mandatory necessity to get another pair ASAP. These boots blow out the competition in ALL areas. The comfort lasts the from the first time you put them on until the last time that you put them on (or until you see them floating down the Amazon river)
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fall addition Can literally wear any colour jeans, khakis, or even shorts with these! Very comfortable. A little tight no doubt. I wish i had bought them in half a size bigger. Do not have much sole support. Your basic going out shoe. Don't expect to wear these out for long distances of walking or anything of the sort.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from TTS -- don't size down! A lot of people say that desert boots stretch out a half to a full size with a little wear. Since I have small feet to begin with, I ordered a 6 instead of my usual 6.5. While they've stretched out a little, the toe box is still a bit narrow, and I find them mine too tight to wear for long periods of time comfortably. If I'd ordered my usual size, though, the Macalisters would be great: they're a little more structured than other brands of DBs I've tried on, and seem to be holding up well after about a month of wear.
Date published: 2014-10-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fall boot I really like the style of this chukka boot. I wear a size 7-1/2 - 8 womens' and I ordered a 5-1/2 mens. They fit well except the height of the toe box seems a little shallow. I'll have to wear thin socks with them otherwise they'll be a little tight. Hoping they will stretch out with wear as leather usually does. Wouldn't mind another color but hard to know if a 6 would be too long since they are a final sale.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile, Stylish Shoe I bought these for my boyfriend--they are his second pair of Macalister boots. They are the perfect casual shoe that look great with everything. He wears them in summer and winter. As long as J. Crew keeps making these, he will keep wearing them :)
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking and comfortable Only problem is the grey color is not the one pictured. I even returned and got a replacement pair, but they're still a more taupe color which I already had from last year. I really wanted the grey as pictured Hard to get replacement shoelaces. J Crew doesn't carry them.
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality & Comfort! I recently purchased these shoes for my husband. He loves them! He walks a lot at his job and says they have been comfortable enough to wear all day at work. His work environment is professional but they are allowed to wear jeans. These shoes are the perfect blend of professionalism yet not overly dressy. They pair perfectly with a nice pair of jeans. He has weather-treated them to protect from rain and snow. I will comment that he has very narrow feet and these seem to fit him pretty well. For that reason, I would say anyone who has wide feet might find these a little narrow. For my husband, however, he is very happy to have a pair of shoes that are not extremely wide on his feet. Well worth the money!
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Annual purchase I have bought a pair for my son every year for the past 5 years. He loves them and wears them nearly every day, so by the end of the year, he's generally "ready" for a replacement pair. He's had both leather and nubuck pairs in various shades of brown. This year, I bought a pair in a gray tone, and he loved them too!
Date published: 2015-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shoes Ive owned pair of these for 3 years. Very Comfortable, crepe sole is amazing. Can be slippery in wet conditions. Easy to clean, they only get better with age. They stretch out a bit, and they're sized half to one full size too large. But great shoes once you get a pair that fits. Just purchased the same boots to make sure I'm good for the next couple of years. Best shoes for the fall/spring time.
Date published: 2015-08-31
  • y_2016, m_12, d_2, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_59
  • loc_en_US, sid_79438, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_jcrew