Perfect shirt in linen
full size
Perfect shirt in linen
Product Details

The perfect shirt for work and beyond. Borrowed from the boys but designed and tailored impeccably for us—that's why we call it perfect—with precisely placed bust and back princess darts for a slimming, waist-defining fit that's a bit more feminine than our boy shirt. Made from lightweight, airy linen, it's a quintessential summertime piece (and perfect worn as a cover-up too).

  • Linen.
  • Long sleeves.
  • Functional buttons at cuffs.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
  • Online only.
Size & Fit Details
  • Body length: 28 1/4".

Perfect shirt in linen

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 101 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I have been a fan of this linen perfect shirt for years. I have 6 of them in my closet from previous years and they have held up extremely well with much wear and gentle machine wash. After buying the navy blue color this year at full price, I was very upset that after only 3 washes there is a large whole in the underarm area, not in the seam which might be understandable but in the fabric itself. It looks shredded. I am going to have to give it a poor rating this year. Very disappointed. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A linen shirt to collect Lovely woven linen fabric makes this shirt a masterpiece along with the clean simple lines. I love this shirt in the beautiful jewel tones of emerald and sapphire to be worn tucked into my jeans . I also love the simplicity of the typical summer colors of white,flax, and navy. A super shirt and so high quality to wear to the shore over swimwear too . Just add the straw hat with the pretty ribbon that blows in the wind. April 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by careful with color selection The shirt fits perfectly and is true to size, very nice and good quality. My only but is that the color I ordered (flax) doesn't quite look as in the web. It's really a dark beige, more brownish whereas in the website it looks more off-white/cream. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by J.Crew sizing, usually a shot in the dark... I am 5'3" and 125 lbs. with a small bust, and curvy hips and bottom. Typically, J.Crew sizing is a nightmare for me. In tops, usually I wear a M, but in J.Crew I need an XXS. For bottoms, usually I wear a size 4 pant or 27 jean, but a 0 or 00 in J.Crew. I bought the linen perfect shirt in a size 4. Size wise - the shirt fit perfectly in my shoulders, bust, waist and hips (it could have been a little shorter in length.) Style wise - it is perfect. As always. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have 1 in every color (2 in white) These linen shirts only get better with each laundering. I love how they are soft and need no ironing. The fit IS perfect, even for me -- I have difficulty finding buttoned shirts that won't gap and yet are still fitted (not dowdy). Love the white so much I bought a second one. I finally found "the perfect white shirt" for me. The red-orange is a fabulous color, too. For reference: I am 5'5", approx 135 lbs., 32DDD bra, and I wear a 6 in this shirt. June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great classic! I bought two of these and am contemplating a third in another color. The linen feels great, and the lines of this with the shirt tail compliment my long waisted figure. The only complaint I have is the white buttons on the colored shirts. I will be buying and sewing on dark buttons on the blue shirt, as the contrast displeases me. I feel that using white buttons on all colors just looks like the manufacturer is saving money. May 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought three! After buying one, I loved it so much I bought two more! This is in a deep, to-die-for midnight blue, with perfect little white buttons, great boy-ish fit that is neat and trim. I tuck the front in a bit, but not the back. Crisp linen, feels light and airy but not thin, keeps its shape. Now if only you had it in a steel grey. Maybe you do, I better look. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Perfect Linen Shirt I get a few of these every Spring. These linen shirts are wardrobe workhorses. The fit seems improved this year. Like the cuffs more too. Fit is true to size. No gaping. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It really is a perfect shirt. I ordered the size 2 in white. I'm 5' 5" and 115 lbs (34B) and it fits like it was made for me. The things I love the most: the sleeves are still long enough after you wash and dry it. And the buttons land in the perfect spot to create that casual low unbuttoned look without showing your bra. I couldn't be happier. I wish all J. Crew shirts fit like this one, because I find some of them are too tight and narrow across the shoulder, even though I'm small. This one does not have that problem. It really is perfect. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great linen shirt, once you know your size Count me as a fan of this shirt, for years now. I've gotten a new perfect linen shirt from J Crew each year for the last 4 years at least, and I've found the size to be consistent. They are fairly narrow, and I do need a 10 in them to make sure I have enough room in the bust. That's the same size I get in most J Crew perfect shirts for the same reason. I love the linen. It's light and soft, and yes, it wrinkles like all 100% linen does,. I think the wrinkles look fine given the softness of the linen. You either like linen in the summer, wrinkles and all, or you don't. Since I spend most summers in the SE or SW, I have to deal with the heat outside, and the AC inside, and linen is just right for that, airy and breathable, but covering your skin so you don't burn in the sun or shiver when you go inside. I love the colors, the fabric, and the cut. This shirt is a winner. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly a Perfect Shirt! I had been wanting a white linen shirt for the last 3 or 4 years. I tried on shirts from other popular brands and settled on the "Perfect Shirt in Linen" from J. Crew. The quality and fit were exactly what I was looking for and I am very pleased with this shirt. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it the first time, love it again. I had purchased this shirt in green last year and now got a white one recently, and was just as happy with the quality. The white is slightly sheer, which is to be expected with a pale linen shirt, so I'm okay with it, since the fabric seems of good quality. I'm only disappointed I didn't hurry to get it in the navy blue now that stock is depleted; here's hoping it'll be available again for the next Spring/Summer season in an even wider range of colours! June 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Super linen shirt! It is WAY oversized, so if you want the look of how it is fitting the model, go down a size or two. It will still be long. But, it is a beautiful, gently shaped, longer blouse. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good fit and quality I bought this shirt in white for a trip to North Africa. it wore and washed quite well. The sizing is true and it didn't shrink like crazy, as lower quality linen often does. I ordered the shirt in green and navy when I got home. The colors are lovely, but I haven't worn or washed those yet, so can't comment on colorfastness. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shirt I love this shirt. I have several from last year too. Nice casual shirt that looks with capris, white linen pants and jeans. I bought the navy blue. I wear a size 8 ( I'm 5'10" & 150 lbs for reference). May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another perfect Linen Shirt I love linen shirts for spring and summer. This one is perfect. It works well for business casual but is also a home run with casual skirts, jeans and shorts. It is a pretty eggshell color so is a wonderful addition to your bright white linen boy shirt. April 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by My summer uniform Every year, J.Crew comes out with linen shirts, and every year, I order them in my favorite classic colors (white, navy) and new summer colors (yellow, blue). These shirts fit so well (very slimming without being tight) that when I am in doubt, I just throw one on with a pair of J.Crew Chino Shorts, and I am ready to go. I am 5'3", 125 lbs, and a size 0 fits me just right. May 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice shirt for the summer I bought this shirt in different colors last year but thought that it fits too large around the body. When I saw that this year you called it "Perfect Shirt " I thought that it had a different fit from before but it really does not. On you images online it looks more fitted , but it is deceiving. I would purchase it in all colors if it had more shape , it is still a bit boxy. May 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by too sheer I found this a bit oversized for me. The fabric felt quite nice - thick and soft, but the white was too sheer. I would have had to wear a camisole or tank underneath. A return. April 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rich Color I really liked the positano blue color and the fabric is a nice light weight linen. I am 5'4" and originally ordered the size 4 which was too small in the shoulders (I normally wear a small). I got the shirt in a 6 and it was better but not huge in the shoulders. The sleeves were too long but the rest of the shirt fit nicely. I shortened the sleeves myself and the length is perfect now. I don't think I would have kept the shirt because of the sleeves being too long, the cuffs would have to be rolled up all the time otherwise. May 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good basic, different fit than usual I tried a 00 in white at the store. The linen is soft and the white is just a touch sheer, you could probably get away with wearing a nude bra underneath this shirt. There were no loose buttons or stray threads on the on the one I tried. The fit, however, was much different than the other perfect shirts I have. Instead of skimming my body, it was hanging off of me and didn't nip in at the waist like my other perfect shirts (in the same size) do. The overall fit was rather a bit closer to the boy shirts, though judging by other reviews this could have been an anomaly. The overall quality is excellent, but the fit just wasn't what I expected. For reference, I am 5' 5" with a 31" bust and a 23.5" waist. May 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite summer shirt The perfect shirt in linen is a work horse in my summer wardrobe. Though it is prone to wrinkling, as is expected from a linen garment, it still manages to be professional enough for my office and plenty comfortable for leisure time. The quality is superb: the linen is soft, not itchy and it is lightweight without being too sheer. The "perfect" cut has been my favorite for years, and I appreciate that it hasn't changed in all that time. The shirts (I have ordered four out of the five colors offered this year) are true to size. They fit like a glove and hug my body in all the right places. I also appreciate the saturated colors -- all are lovely in real life, including the deep orange (sweet persimmon) that pleasantly surprised me, but my favorite has to be the gorgeous green (emerald pool). I only wish the perfect shirts were offered in other natural materials and patterns. July 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Indispensible! I purchased this shirt in the gorgeous emerald and sapphire colors last year. They pair so beautifully with many of the things in my closet, it will be a sad day when they wear out! This year, loving the fit and the look, I added several in the white. Since the white isn't completely opaque, it looks so cool when it is so hot outside. Now if only I could figure out how to wash them so that the fabric would come out as soft as it is before the first wash. Without that dilema, I would buy even more! July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic and gorgeous I love this classic yet always in style linen shirt. It is somewhat fitted yet roomy enough to be comfortable. I bought two and could wear them every day. These are my go to shirts for casual wear with jeans and shorts or dressed up with a pencil skirt. July 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's really a perfect shirt This shirt is true to size and is nicely fitted. It's very soft and comfortable and I love the beautiful pop of color. It can be dressed up or down. July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable go to shirt ! I have worn this shirt with jeans,shorts, long linen skirt, and, of course, linen pants, I really love the fit and feel of this shirt ! June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pefect Linen shirt I wish the shirt came in more colors it is my go to shirt for the summer I have white, green and now the flax I really wish it came in black linen please bring it back in more colors next year June 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Shirt I have been looking for a good fitting shirt for most of my life. I reluctantly purchased this shirt and it fits perfect. It is well made. The buttons are in the right place so there is no chance of the shirt puckering along the bust line. The linen is soft but I wish the fabric was a little thicker. My only complaint... June 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Classic Shirt - Love Tall Size Love this shirt, Jcrew please keep offering long sleeve shirts (other than white) in TALL. I have long arms and need the sleeve length of a size 4 TALL. This shirt is a classic staple for any wardrobe. Can be dressed up or down. May 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful classic shirt I was very pleased to have finally found this in the green color in my size (it kept selling out) and it just arrived today. it's a gorgeous shirt, fits beautifully. I do wish the green were a bit darker (the color on the model is perfect! mine is a little lighter/brighter) but overall I'm very happy with it. the linen is a little stiff but seems like it's the type to soften up over time. May 29, 2015
  • 2016-09-23 T12:42:32.352-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_101, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_42841, prod, sort_default
Prev 2 of 5
2 3 4 5
Next