5" chino short
full size
5" chino short
5" chino short
Product Details

Our classic chino short is back in a rainbow of colors and a longer, slightly more modest length.

  • Cotton.
  • Zip fly.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
  • Online only.
Size & Fit Details
  • City fit—our lowest rise.
  • Sits just above hip.
  • 5" inseam.

5" chino short

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 165 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great fit the shorts are true to size and are cut in such a way that look flattering on a 20 year old as well as a 50 year old. (if you are 50 get the 5 inch and if you are 20 get the 3 inch!) there is nothing bad i can say. just a great fitting pair of short that make your legs look good. (i am 5'9" and 138lb and bought size 6...and ok, got the 5 inch inseam...) May 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect everyday shorts These shorts are high quality. Perfect length. They do run a tad big. After a washing they shrunk a little (which was great), but as the day goes on they do stretch back out making them look a little less flattering by the end of the day. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5" CHINO SHORTS I LOVE THE 5 INCH CHINO SHORTS . THE LENGTH IS JUST THE BEST .NOT TOO LONG AND NOT TOO SHORT. HOWEVER IT IS HARDER TO FIND THE 5" IN THE STORES. PLEASE CONTINUE TO MAKE THEM,AND IN MORE BRIGHT COLORS . July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer staple I have been wearing J.Crew chino shorts for over 20 years now and they never disappoint. The stone color is so soft and comfortable--I wear them every week. These shorts are a summer staple. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love these shorts! These shorts are my absolute favorites! My goal is to own them in every color - I now have them in 4 colors. Not too short, not too long. Wash, dry and wear, they require no ironing! They look great both casual and dressed up and they hold their shape like a champ! May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Chino Short Stop looking . . . here's your short to take you through the summer, and for those of you in warmer climates, fall too. Classic, sturdy styling in comfortable cotton that for me, fits true to size (Size 6 is my "go to" for pants and shorts). I expect the pairs I purchased to last me through the next few years. I prefer the 4" and 5" shorts - 3" is a little too short, while 7" feels a little too matronly (I'm 5'7" for reference). My favorite new color is Melted Caramel, which J.Crew has styled with several items on in the Style Guide and website. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by a summer staple. These shorts are a classic summer must-have. I think the 5 inch is the perfect length for just about everyone. I also love the 7 inch shorts if you need something more on the conservative side. I think they fit true to size, however i go up 1 size because I like to wear a belt with them and I don't like them too fitted through the hip and thigh. They are excellent quality and DO NOT shrink with proper care. ALL cotton and natural fibers will shrink over time if you use the dryer continuously! If you don't want cotton to shrink, you need to hang dry- sorry it's a fact of life. If you're in between 2 sizes, ALWAYS buy the bigger size if the garment is cotton and you want longevity of the garment. These shorts are well-made of a durable cotton and last for many seasons. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soooo thankful... ...to the reviewer who specified that she needed to size up in these shorts....yeah, thanks! I have always purchased these shorts in a size 8, but though my weight hasn't changed, the 8 wasn't fitting anymore in the waist and I was returning. Tried again with the 10, and fits perfect on the waist of my straight-to-slightly curvy figure without bagging in the rear. Took a risk with the eggplant color, and really glad I did...surprisingly, it goes with so many of my favorite tops, particularly the blues and the whole spectrum of warm colors! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow- awesome shorts! Let me just start by saying that I am NOT a fan of short & tight, so I was apprehensive to try these. I'm in my mid-30's, so looking like a teenager is not my aim; the Broken In Boyfriend shorts have been my go-to's for years. However, I wanted to try something new. The first second I put these on I was impressed. They fit true to size, aren't too low (I'd say mid rise), they aren't too tight, they aren't too short, and they made me look great! I was like wow! These are awesome shorts! Really nice. Way to go, J. Crew! July 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely the Best I love these shorts! Between the ones I purchased last year and the 2 new colors I purchased this year I am up to 6 pair of these. They are the perfect length without being too short and the colors are always fabulous. I like that they keep a couple of basic colors and then add new fun colors every year. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5" Chino Short It's hard to find a great 5" short and these are perfect! As a true JCrew product, the fabric is great and they stay tailored all day. I have them in several colors but wish they 5" came in Khaki. June 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Color was WAY off I like JCrew's 5" shorts and was looking to add a bright colored pair to my wardrobe. Neon flame looks like a bright pinkish coral online, but in reality it's traffic cone orange. The difference is so dramatic that I feel like I ordered these from a knock-off website. Yikes! June 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect shorts length Not too long. Not too short. Not too high waisted. Not too low waisted. Just perfect. I'm 5'6" size 2. Classy and age appropriate for this 47 year old. I just ordered 2 more pair. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect shorts My first J Crew purchase and love the fit of the chino shorts. I'm 5'4" 160 lbs and the size 14 fit perfect. Not too widen the legs, which also seems to be my problem. Just purchased 2 pairs for my daughter and will be purchasing more colors for myself. March 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Store please!!!!!! I love the 5 inch shorts. Always have bought these since I have more muscular thighs. It's a perfect length for a gal who is 5ft 2 inches. The 7 inch ones look too long. Very disappointed that JCrew does not carry this length in stores anymore. Please put them back in the stores!!!! August 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST SHORTS EVER! Living in Honolulu, I buy shorts all the time. Very difficult to find shorts with quality and style. Decided to try the 5" shorts...not too short...not too long. Fits perfectly to size. Slight variation between colors but not significant. I am a size 2. I am 5' 3.5" and 120 lbs. Own 12 shorts and buying more. LOVE the assorted colors. My favorite brand! July 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by wardrobe staple Love these chino shorts, especially in the new colors, and ESPECIALLY on sale! I get a new pair of shorts every year or two, and was delighted to see my fave chinos in the light blue color this year. Great wardrobe staple, fantastic for summer casual wear, love these shorts! May 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fit Even For Athletic Builds I'm 5'9" with more of an athletic build, thicker thighs and legs, ample rear. 36 28 37. I usually wear a 6 or 8 in JCrew bottoms but I generally don't like the fit of clothing with small skinny legs unless the fabric has lots of stretch. Although my other shorts are a size 6, they also only have a 3 to 4 inch inseams. I opted for a size 8 in the Fern because I wanted a more relaxed, comfortable fit and liked the idea of longer 5 inch inseam but didn't want them at all tight on my thighs. I thought that the thighs might be more snug in a 6 with the 5" inseam. The size 8 was the perfect choice for me. They're a tiny bit big in the waist but not enough to require a belt and the rise doesn't expose me when I bend over and the legs are perfect too. Soft, comfortable chino fabric. Great! I only wish that they were available in more of a variety of new colors for this year because I'd order more. A red and deep maroon would be desirable as would black. May 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good basic short I have these shorts in several colors. They are a good basic short. J Crew has also maintained consistent sizing for these shorts for the past few years. For reference, I am 5'6" and 124 pounds with an athletic build and the size 2 fits well. April 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Chinos EVER I recently updated my old JCrew chino shorts with new ones due to getting older and wider!!! I have bought these chinos for over ten years (if not longer) and still have some originals when I was in a size 6!! They are durable, comfortable, classic styling and look great regardless of the size. I bought a 12 because I wanted them a bit bigger so they are slouchy and I can wear a shirt tucked if I want without a bulge!! Can't say enough good about these shorts. My neighbor loved them so much she ordered two pair!!! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did not disappoint I have several pairs of these shorts in various colors. Great fit and quality, and my husband always tells me I look sexy in them. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great shorts! Love these shorts! The quality is great and they are a perfect length. The color is definitely bright, but fun for summer! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect Short These shorts are absolutely the Best. Fit great, wear nice and wash perfect. Although sometimes I send mine to the cleaners because I like the crease in them. I think I have every color. I buy different lengths because I like the longer ones when I dress up. You won't go wrong. Buy them in different colors. They are all beautiful!! May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cant Go Wrong with Chino's It has taken me a long time to find a pair of shorts that fit me well, were conformable but also cute. I have a bit of muscle in my legs so this was a challenge until now. Thank you for the high quality product! May 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My favorite short year after year. I have been wearing JCrew chino shorts for over 15 years and they continue to deliver the same top quality and lasting comfort as always. I am 5'6" 160# and wear a size 10. Because thay are 100% cotton they do stretch a bit with wear. I love the wider waistband as it is very forgiving for my 45y.o. body and the 5" length is perfect for still showing leg and not leaving me feeling matronly. I ordered the green and the color is quite unique, a darker green with a bluish hue. February 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Army green shorts for every occasion I bought these shorts in green hoping to wear them on the weekend and possibly to work on those super toasty summer days. The fabric is softer than I would have thought and the green color is excellent. They look great with leopard print and natural hues. I can easily wear the shorts to work without feeling like I am showing everyone my bottom half. I have to say the shorts seem to run small. I purchased a size 8 (normally I am a 6-8) and a size 10 just in case. The 10s are much more comfortable for weekend wear and seem to be significantly longer (proportionally) to the eights. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by too long I liked the quality of the fabric. However, the length was too long for me, I had to return it and get the 4'' shorts. The color was off too. It matched my skin color so it looked a bit odd. Maybe the length was a bit longer and made my legs look stumpy because I'm short (5'4'')? Not sure, but I liked the 4'' blue shorts way better. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Try all on before washing. I ordered 3 different colors, I tried on the navy and not the white or khaki. Figuring they were all the same short and size , they should fit the same. Wrong. I washed all of them. The white and khaki are larger. Have tried to shrink, not working. I now have 2 pair that I can't wear. Really like the quality though. May 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Runs small I already own several pairs of these shorts in a size 8 (purchased several years ago). Unfortunately, I needed to go up a size this year so I ordered the same shorts in a size 10. When I tried them on, they are basically the exact same size as the size 8s that I already own. Very disappointed that J Crew has gone skimpy on the fabric and I will be returning the shorts. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great white short Can be dressed up or worn casually--great twill fabric, the length is perfect for a white short (especially if you have "older legs" like I do). I love the Jcrew Chino shorts. Year on year they are my summer favorites. April 26, 2016
  • 2016-05-05 T10:16:49.207-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_165, tr_165
  • loc_en_US, sid_68925, prod, sort_default
Prev 2 of 7
2 3 4 5 7
Next