Merino wool Tippi sweater
full size
Merino wool Tippi sweater
Product Details

The sweater you'll wear with almost everything. It's soft, flattering and layers well—so you can totally justify buying several.

  • Merino wool in a 14-gauge knit.
  • Three-quarter sleeves.
  • Rib trim at neck, cuffs and hem.
  • Dry clean.
  • Import.
Size & Fit Details
  • Semifitted.
  • Hits at hip.

Merino wool Tippi sweater

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 282 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A comfortable and stylish knit I ordered the merino Tippi in the light yellow (daffodil) colour and after wearing it for one day, I know I will be buying more of this style. The fit is not figure-hugging but not slouchy either. The fabric is light and soft, a bit see-through so the lighter colours at least will have to be worn with a cami underneath. Although the label says dry-cleaning, I am (always have and in the future will be) washing this by hand in cold water. If you do this, remember to be gentle (no scrubbing, scrunching or pulling) and leave it dry flat (do not use hangers or clothes pegs). Dry-cleaning is toxic for environment, the cleaners and for the wearer so I want to stay away from it whenever I can. July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty sweater, well made needs a cami Tippi sweaters are very pretty and well made. But they are too thin and see thru for my taste. Needs a layer - cami, shirt, underneath. May 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'd buy it again I'm an Italian customer. A fashion addict. I find the Tippi sweater a must have for everyday look. I like it very much May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tippi Lover! I now own about a million Tippis, so note to J.Crew - keep making them! Or maybe not, and I'll save some money! I find the Tippi to be a very versatile sweater that can be worn on its own, with a blouse underneath, or layered under a Schoolboy Blazer given it's slim, but not tight cut. Goes with all sorts of skirts and pants - my favorites are the Minnie Pants in Stretch Twill and Bi-Stretch wool. The crewneck is the perfect backdrop for many of J.Crew's statement necklaces. It is merino wool, so while it might be a little much in the heat of summer, it's a great option for almost all other weather, and the wide variety of colors (classic black, navy and gray; deep jewel tones, light pastels, super brights) provide endless options for the seasons. Long live the Tippi! May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yarn unravelling on sleeves after one wearing Purchased this sweater in Heather Begonia here on this website. Lovely style and absolutely gorgeous color. Very shocked and unhappy to find out yarn unravelling causing a hole on the back of sleeve after only one wear (about 6 hours). Horrible. Very saddening. I wish J.Crew would improve the quality of their yarn. I love the Tippi sweater's style. I had purchased my first Tippi also from this website a couple years ago and it lasted me for more than 2 years. Not sure why the newer ones are so low in quality. Big disappointment. March 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Brings all the boys to the yard Completely see-thru, even in the navy color. J Crew skimps on the quality and keeps the price high. At least the boys will be happy when they can see everything. May 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Quality I absolutely adore the style of the Tippi sweater and was excited about the spring colors, particularly the North Sea that I ordered mine in. The fit and color were fabulous. I wore it once and it has already developed holes. This is becoming a consistent issue with sweaters and tees I have been ordering from J. Crew to the point that I'm not sure I willing to place any new orders. April 1, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Used to Love, Now Just Disappointing I loved the Tippi's when they first came out - I had several colours. They fit true to size and felt substantial. Now, my last few that I purchased have felt a lot bigger and a lot thinner. The quality isn't what it once was - I bought the grey one, wore it three times, went to wear it last time and it had a hole in the back - the sweaters should be lasting more than three wears (I hadn't even washed it yet!) and I'm very disappointed in the declining quality. I won't be buying this in the future. February 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the same Tippi I love the original Tippi sweaters from past seasons. I have several colors in merino wool as well as the linen blend from spring/summer '13. So when I received another Tippi merino wool sweater for my birthday this year, I was happy to be adding yet another to my collection. However, I noticed almost immediately that the sweater seemed threadbare/thin. I decided to keep it, but the sweater started to unravel and developed holes after only one wear. I almost trashed it until a J. Crew associate and another customer both commented that they had similar problems with their Tippi sweaters from this season. I was fortunate enough to return my sweater and get a store credit. J. Crew, I love your clothes but the quality of your clothing this season is just so disappointing. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by love these sweaters overall, lovelovelove these sweaters. i think i own 8 total (don't judge- i live in NYC and barely have time to do laundry) which i mainly purchased on sale. only issue i have with them is that the lighter color ones (which are my favorites, sigh) are definitely a tad see through and i need to wear a camisole underneath in order to make it more work appropriate othewrise, love the length (not too short, not too long) and think they're decent quality. only thing i'd add about the quality is it seems the sweaters get nubby so you need to brush them with one of those combs after a few years to keep them looking new. October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect sweater I love tippi sweaters, they are always so versatile. I bought the green and it is a beautiful shade for fall. This sweater fits true to size, I purchased a small and I am a size 2-4 in blouses. October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All-time favorite. The Tippi is sweater perfection. Between the Tippi & the Factory Charley I own 24 - yes, two dozen - of this style. It is hands-down my favorite, go-to sweater. It looks good layered over, layered under - even both! The colors are always fantastic, super-saturated & rich. I have found it launders well too - our washer has a particular wool cycle & they come out looking good as new (of course, I lay them flat to dry). The neckline is perfect for a statement necklace. This sweater looks good dressed up or dressed down. I take a medium in this style - I am 5'7" & 137 lbs & I don't want it too fitted around my midsection. I will be devastated when J Crew discontinues this style! May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Such a staple, which it was better quality! So I have three of these sweaters because they're just so great for work/random errand running. But, one of my sweaters has ripped (I've had it less than a year) and another that I bought 6 months later has started to pill. But, I bought a third because they're just so comfy. They're worth it on sale, I think. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Tippi Shamefully, this is my 5th Tippi sweater and they never disappoint! The look I am going for determines the size I order…I order a Small for a more tailored, fitted look (i.e.: under a blazer or with wide-legged pants). When I want a more casual look for jeans or slim-fit pants I go up to a Medium. Overall, the sweater runs a bit large for size. I am 5'8" and usually wear a size 6-8 at J Crew but the Small is very comfortable. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Holy Grail of Merino Sweaters This sweater is absolute perfection. I own it in a ton of colors and will probably buy more as new colors come out. It is true to size, just the right length and not too tight or too loose. It's a fall staple for me. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Tippi I have numerous Tippi sweaters and find them to be very versatile. I was happy to see the "bright tangerine" color this season as I've been waiting for a true orange color. I am 5'6, 120-125lbs, 32B and the extra small fits perfectly. I hope J. Crew continues to make this sweater in solids and prints! May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect It is a perfect everyday sweater. With a nice cut, soft and good quality. I am between XS and S with XS in most dresses and I take S in tippi for a slightly fitted look. May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by SOLID Basic for the wardrobe I have a few of these TIPPI sweaters, they are a great transition sweater. Def 3/4 sleeve so not idea for cooler am/pms. Lovely colours and true to size. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tippi is a classic This is my third(or fourth) Tippi sweater and I love them! The merino wool is soft and lightweight and never scratchy. Perfect for spring when I still want a sweater but want to bare my wrists a bit more in anticipation of warmer weather. Perfect for showing off a great watch or bracelet! The fit is TTS so order w/confidence. I'm 5'2", 110lbs and take an XS. Caution-This sweater doesn't look good if you try to size up. You'll get "wings" under your arms and a sloppy look. Stay w/your reg size for a sleek, polished and classic look. April 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I want one in every color I'm 5'9" with a long torso, so I love these run a little longer than most J.Crew sweaters. For example, the Jackie cardigans/shells are too short for me, but the Tippi is perfect. They are fairly lightweight but keep me warm in the office - definitely a piece that you could wear in all seasons. The color selection is wonderful and the colors have stayed vibrant and the sweater looks great with no pilling. Definitely recommend! October 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by What's happening with the fabric? I love this sweater, the fit and style. But I have to say, the quality of the product has changed. The fabric is thin, almost see through. It seems cheap rather than the elegant thick look and feel it had before. I gave it two stars due to the quality of the fabric. This type of fabric, I would expect at the Jcrew Factory store and not at the Jcrew store. We want comfort, style and quality. September 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Despite all the reviews, did not love it I read ALL available reviews before purchasing online. I tried it on and was not in love. I usually size up to M in merino wool sweaters from J Crew. I tried it on 3 different times on as many days and the consistent issue was a bagginess near the front armhole area. It made me look more busty than a 34D and simply proved unflattering. Sizing down to S with a crew neck would only serve to give me a uniboob or the appearance of an even heftier bustline; I'm not in the market for either. I wanted to love this, but once I try it and don't think "yes!" it just cannot be kept. Although the colour is lovely, and the wool soft, if you don't have fit, you don't have style. So back they go. Pity. July 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by So sad.... Lovely, simple style. Well put together. But the material is WAY too thin. I purchased the ivory and the mint and both I have yet to wear alone because they are too sheer. Jcrew - you charge enough - don't skimp on fabric. January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Versatile wardrobe staple - inconsistent sizing.. Nothing less than a must-have wardrobe staple! The fabric is so soft to the skin (I have very sensitive skin, hence are pretty picky regarding fabrics), and it provides just the right amount of warmth, either to be worn on its own or as a smart and comfortable layer under sweaters/blazers/jackets. Furthermore, really love the neckline which is kind of in between a crew- and boatneck, very flattering. The colors available are also great, bright and nice, however, beware!: Already own one of these sweaters in a cream-white hue, and this one fits absolutely true to size (XXS for me), slightly fitted (though not body-hugging!), just the right length, hitting slightly below my waistline. Another one I tried in purple, however, felt a tad more loose overall, especially the length was significantly longer! Last not least, regarding quality: Fabric to me seems pretty delicate, so be careful, also with washing, it may not be that durable. Nevertheless, overall, highly recommended! June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't get enough of the Tippi I keep buying more colors because of the overall versatility and style of this sweater. It goes with everything. I love the 3/4 sleeve because it shows off jewelry. Also because I am shorter and the sleeve is a nice length. The sweater length is perfect to wear in or out, dressed up or down. Merino wool is a nice lightweight to wear almost year round. Fit is nice, I am 5'3" 130# 36DD and I wear medium. Keep bringing in the colors! May 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect light sweater This sweater continues to impress me- it looks good with everything. Work skirt? Looks great. Summer shorts? Looks great. This is that effortless piece that always flatters. I was concerned the merino wool would be itchy- but it is smooth and perfectly comfortable. My only request? Make more colors! I have three colors now and want more... May 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Sweater I was looking for a green sweater that would be comfortable, stylish and a natural fit, I found it. The color is stunning, a true green, not blue green or yellow green, simply green. The 3/4 sleeves are perfect for fall and winter. The size runs true and the length is becoming. I couldn't be happier, thank you. November 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy and timeless You can't go wrong with this sweater! The sea grass green is gorgeous. As most have noted, the Tippi sweater is extremely flattering. This piece will go with anything, and can be dressed up or down. Perfect style to showcase a scarf or necklace. Runs slightly large- I'm a 34 B/C bust and ordered the small. I live in Southern California where wool isn't a year-round option; however, this is just the right weight for many months of the year. You won't regret this purchase! October 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A stylish basic. Pieces like this is the reason I come back to J. Crew again and again. I'll wear this sweater over and over without ever getting tired of it. It's stylish, soft, comfortable and works with so many outfits. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply beautiful I am in love, these sweaters feels better than my cashmere collection and the fit is flawless, I have broad shoulders so many "crew" cuts enhances my shoulders in an unfavorable way, leaving me to only stick with "v" cuts, but I believe these are universal and every shape and skin tone can wear these..shocking! On crews blog they have suggestions for cleaning and storing fine knits and I did try it, no shrinkage! They give you visuals along with the text, thanks. I also found that crew customer service is the most courteous and well informed than any cs I dealt with. I mostly do my shopping online and often need help with choosing certain items, the representatives always pulls through and when I have an issue(only once in 7 years) the reps are so gracious and dare I say OVER polite...priceless! Overall these sweaters are truly basics for everyone's wardrobe July 11, 2014
  • 2016-09-23 T12:42:33.736-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_282, tr_282
  • loc_en_US, sid_46725, prod, sort_default
Prev 2 of 11
2 3 4 5 11
Next