Vintage cotton V-neck tee
full size
Vintage cotton V-neck tee
Vintage cotton V-neck tee
Product Details

Back in 2004, we set out to replicate one of our favorite thrift-store tees, and the result is our vintage cotton—famous for its heathered texture and softness. We upgraded this tee to a top-quality cotton that stands up to constant wear, without sacrificing the lived-in feel we love. Since it's so featherweight, we recommend taking extra care when washing. Treat it like you would lingerie, not gym gear.

  • Vintage slub cotton.
  • Machine wash.
  • Import.
Size & Fit Details
  • Slightly loose fit.
  • Body length: 26 3/4".
Rated 4 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyday, everyway The Vintage tees are my favorite. This tee can be dressed up and dressed down - great with a pair of shorts, jeans, skirt, tucked in, un-tucked, with a cardigan, with a scarf - anyway you could imagine. It is soft, comfortable, and the colors are fantastic - you can never have too many. I like the v-neck because it cuts low and I think that makes it a great summer tee but if you are wary of it being too low then I would recommend the scoop-neck. May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Inconsistent Quality I have a love/hate relationship with these t-shirts. On one hand, the style is exactly what I was looking for and I love the vintage look of the fabric. On the other, the quality has been hit or miss. I own at least 10 of these shirts in a variety of colors. From my experience, the black, navy, seem to be of a different material than the grey and white. My black shirts have held up well even in a regular wash cycle. Both of my grey shirts however seem thinner and have holes in them after less than 5 wears. One has 5 noticeable holes in it already. This is not the kind of quality I would expect for any t-shirt let alone for this price! I am going to have to find a new go-to t-shirt as the inconsistent quality here is a serious issue. Really disappointing! March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lightweight and Drapey, but Difficult to Care For. The Vintage Tee is a drapey, straight t-shirt in lightweight slub cotton. It fits slim but not tight in the bust and drops straight from there. The v-neck enhances the drape, and I wear these partially tucked with slim skirts and sleek pants for some contrast in shape and texture. I like the look, and J. Crew has offered the Vintage Tee in some nice colors. But I have reservations. The fabric is light and delicate. I wash mine in a lingerie bag. I leave them in the dryer for 5 minutes, then line dry. There are often places on the hem or sleeves that the fabric won’t lie flat after washing and require ironing. The fabric also tends to pill. It’s frustrating that this tee costs more but is much less durable and needs more care than the Perfect Tee. The v-necks vary by about an inch in depth in the same size, so I prefer to purchase these at a J. Crew store so that I can compare v-necks and choose the shallower shirt. These v-necks are about an inch deeper than the Perfect Tees. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cute top - but wash carefully I bought two of these to layer, and they're really cute and lightweight. But after a few washings, one developed a giant hole in the underarm seam... it's a shame that the fabric doesn't hold up better! May 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by So glad it wasn't just me I was really happy to read others' review on quality. I've purchased many colors of these shirts and couldn't figure out what was going on...hem came undone on one shirt after a few wears and washes and 3 others with tiny holes in the body of the shirt that appear after 1 or 2 washes. I will steer clear of these from now on even though I love the fit and how light weight they are. April 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality cotton and mediocre style/design The cotton material this t-shirt is made of is poor. I've had the same problem (unraveling hem) as another reviewer mentioned and I've had random holes develop for no reason because the material is cheap and flimsy. Why are the men's broken-in tees made of better fabric? The fabric of this t-shirt also stretches out. The way it fits in the morning is completely different then the way it fits, at the end of the day. Why not make the t-shirt better quality and charge more? People will always buy t-shirts. It's a wardrobe staple. So enough already with the "tissue", "vintage" tees. Those adjectives are code for cheap and flimsy. I'd like to purchase a substantial, high quality cotton t-shirt and I'm willing to pay double the price for it! May 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great look, terrible quality I've purchased a few of these shirts over the course of the last year, and have been repeatedly disappointed with their quality. I usually handwash thin t-shirts which is what I've done with these - though they do say they can be dried on low. Someone just dried two of them on low, the first time they've ever been in the dryer and, and they both came out with numerous holes. Another had a hole in it after a day of wear. J Crew was great about letting me exchange that shirt but I expect to be able to wear/clean a shirt without having to visit the store for a replacement. I'm a pretty dedicated J Crew shopper but I think I'll be getting my t-shirts elsewhere from now on. December 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best t-shirt! Staple t-shirt on my wardrobe, buy new ones each season! Very comfortable and fir well. Right amount of stretch. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Looks great, feels great, doesn't last I have one of these in 4 different colors, but I have to replace them each Spring. The material seems cheap............my issue seems to be pinholes that slowly get larger. By the end of the season, they become my "yard shirts" and then I have to replace them. Since I love the style so much, I keep buying them. April 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice style but poor quality I loved this tee! It's such a nice color and cut. I liked it so much that I placed an international order to Europe (very expensive due to custom tax and shipping). I wore the tee only 3 times and washed it once - very gently by hand. Today I noticed very larges holes under both armpits. I'm so dissapointed since I've been so careful. I can't believe the quality is so poor. My 'cheap' basics tees last a lot longer, and I 'machine wash' them on a daily base. So, I wouldn't recommend this tee to anyone. I like the style, but the quality is really poor. It's true to size though. January 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Please make these better I have been a long time customer of J.Crew, however I have not purchased much over the past couple of years due to poor quality and shapeless structure of tops and dresses. I have about ten of these vintage tees. The material is just too thin. They start to this out after only a couple of washes. they get tiny holes and the material thins. I wash them on a hand wash cycle and lay flat. The tees come out of the wash all stretched in length and baggy. I really miss the old J.CREW. Now I can't even find clothes I want to buy on the site. Please bring back some tops(how about a non crew neck??) and dresses that are figure flattering to a women's shape. July 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fell apart after 4 wash/wear I loved these tee shirts and bought several different colors all on the same day. Unfortunately these shirts got tiny little holes in them after 3-4 wears. Two of the shirts can only be used for gardening now. I have two more to go. In my opinion not worth the price for the amount of times to wear. I would rather pay a bit more for a better quality tee shirt. April 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very bad quality I bought this tee, and literally wore it ONCE and I noticed that the material was coming apart right below the v-neck and a hole was about to form. Unfortunately since I bought it over a month ago I can't return it. But I would not recommend this product. January 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by T-shirt color bleeds As a loyal Jcrew customer, I have purchased these tshirts for many years, and am disappointed to report that the quality of these shirts seems to have significantly deteriorated. In my latest purchase, the red tshirt was not prewashed and ended up dying an entire set of laundry on a cold cycle wash. I will not be purchasing any more of these tshirts given the quality deterioration - very diasppointing Jcrew. January 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointing construction I have sent numerous vintage tees back because the stitching keeps coming out on the hem and sleeves. These new ones are no different. The stitching is already coming out on the short sleeve one and I have worn it 3 time. It is beginning to seen to me that you don't really care about the quality since you are not doing better with the construction. This is very disappointing to me since the love the shape and lightness of the tee. At this point I am looking for somewhere else to purchase tees and will stop buying anything from J. Crew because I am feeling you don't care about the quality and don't listen to customer input. September 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No value I have this T in 11, yes 11, colors. I love wearing them but hate how they don't hold up in the gentle cycle with delicate washing soap. Unfortunately they wind up as sleep T's after 3 or 4 wearings. The colors fade, hems rip, and the are holes at seams as if a dull or improper sewing needle was used. No value here even on sale. November 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have Tee! The Vintage Cotton V- Neck Tee is a definite must have. This Tee fits true to size and washes well because of it's good quality. JCrew has regular discount offer; I always seem to get them at the right price . This tee is very comfortable because of it's relaxed fit. I highly recommend it as a staple summer piece. May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ehhh I think the shape and fit of these shirts is great. Unfortunately, the fabric is WAY too thin and fragile. This shirt wouldn't even survive being washed in the washing machine once. After two or three wears, this shirt would look like a rag. Definitely not worth the price tag. December 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Am I the only person that knows how to do laundry? Sorry. I'm really a nice person, but these reviews about these tees tearing up in the wash ARE KILLING ME! I've been wearing these vintage tee for years! I wash my my tees separately - along with other like things and colors in mostly cold water. This tee has the PERFECT v -neck depth, sleeve length and hip length. The shirt is easy to layer because it's so lightweight, but it's substantial enough to wear alone. It's easy to tuck in or leave out without bunching. I've turned many of my friends on to these tees, and everyone loves the fit, colors, and material. No one has a shredded or holy shirt! November 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Quality I just purchased about 10 vintage tees over the past month in store and online and have almost all the colors now. I am so disappointed in the quality. After one hand wash, the shirts have lost their shape and color. It doesn't matter what color you buy, they don't last after one wash. I will never buy anything from JCrew again. I have two orders on the way and when they arrive, I am sending them back. Don't waste your money like I did. The colors are pretty in the store and online, but buy your shirts somewhere else as you'll only enjoy your shirt once. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by V-neck tee Love the JCrew vintage tee's. True to size, have them in every color December 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer staple I have this top in mellow yellow, kelly green and chili. I love the pop colors in the heathered vintage fabric. I have a black & white striped hi/lo skirt that i love wearing these tops with, and it gives me some coverage while keeping me cool in hot weather. Wore this in Baja Mexico with a cap and skirt, kept me comfortable & lookin' good... December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BASIC STAPLE Let me start out by saying that I looooove these Ts, I've been a fan for years, and recently I started to buy 2 in every color. I love the cut, the feel, the versatility, and the price cuts ;) and they look d*mn sexy. I love that these Ts are slightly sheer but not to the point where you need to wear a tank underneath. However, the sizing is way off, a common theme at JCrew, I buy these Ts in XS. I'm not an XS by any means, I'm 5'4, 140, and a 34G, but these Ts fit like a glove in XS, they're comfortably fit, not skintight and the right length, right above the hipbone (while the size S is about an inch longer) Now for the bad :( the quality seems to be getting worse and worse every season. The same Ts I got a few years ago may have faded a bit but they didn't get any holes in them, while 3 I bought this simmer got small holes after the first wash (I used hand-wash cycle), this is why I stated buying them in doubles, hopefully next season I won't have to resort to triplicate November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Soft Shirt Excellent shirt. soft, thin and also potentially sexy with a deep V. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's a classic Finding the right v-neck T should be easy but isn't always. I think I've found my go-to style with this T-shirt. Have it in navy, white, black and olive green. Love it. October 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great every day shirt This shirt looks great under a blazer, with a scarf, or just with jeans. Super comfortable with a loose but flattering fit. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Favorite! I am probably the only one on the planet who did not know how amazing tshirts these are. I just discovered these a few months ago!! I love that they are a little longer, not so tight, and the Vneck is very feminine and sexy. I have paired mine with a Y necklace and even my coated jeans. I bought five of these this year! October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite tee I have been buying these shirts since JCrew started making them. I own this tee in several different colors. It's my go-to shirt. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect T-Shirt I like to look stylish even when I wear a t-shirt and jeans, so this is the perfect tee for me. The fabric is soft and slightly sheer (though a nude bra keeps me modest), the v-neck is sexy without being trashy, and the fit is relaxed without being frumpy (in the correct size, anyway). I own three of these in white and will certainly pick up more. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So comfy It's so soft and comfy I can't take it off at bedtime and sleep in it. May 28, 2014
  • 2015-05-05T17:57:39.742-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_173, tr_173
  • loc_en_US, sid_24500, prod, sort_default
Prev 2 of 7
2 3 4 5 7
Next